You are here: Home / Research / Subject Guides / Genealogy

Genealogy

The study of family ancestries and histories
National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians
A great starting place for genealogical research, how-to tips for beginners and experts, links to primary sources world-wide, and databases of family trees.
National Archives: State Archives
Genealogists may need to get information from state archives and historical societies. Here is contact information as of January, 2006
Cyndi’s List
A categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical resources on the Internet, 261,000+ links for family history! (as of 9/1/06)
Repository of Primary Sources
A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar.
Iowa Genealogical Society
IGS is a non-profit organization whose mission is to create and foster an interest in genealogy and to aid others in researching their family history. IGS was founded in 1965 by a small group of dedicated genealogists who met in members' houses and carried the original collection in an orange crate. Today our 3,000+ members are worldwide and the book collection alone spans the length of over five football fields.
State Historical Society of Iowa
A main repository of Iowa historical and genealogical information.
Society of American Archivists
Organizations, associations and groups related to or of interest to the archival profession.
October 2012 »
October
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031
Upcoming Events
Youth Movie - How to Train Your Dragon 2 Dec 18, 2014 06:00 PM - 07:30 PM — Youth Department
Adult Movie - It's a Wonderful Life Dec 19, 2014 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM — Library Meeting Room
LIBRARY CLOSED - Christmas Holiday Dec 24, 2014 09:00 AM - 09:00 PM
LIBRARY CLOSED - Christmas Holiday Dec 25, 2014 09:00 AM - 09:00 PM
LIBRARY CLOSES AT 5:00 PM - New Year's Eve Dec 31, 2014 09:00 AM - 05:00 PM
Previous events…
Upcoming events…