You are here: Home / Research / Subject Guides / Home and Garden

Home and Garden

Links to useful information on the Internet
Decorating Arrangements
Dozens of articles about interior decoration. The "Design Styles" section features information about styles such as Art Deco, Asian, French country, rustic, shabby chic, and Shaker. Includes home tours, and design ideas for specific rooms and for items, such as baskets, candles, lamps, and window treatments. From Home and Garden Television.
Do It Yourself Home Repair, Improvement and Remodeling
The site contains a large collection of tips, tricks, and tutorials covering a variety of subjects, from appliance care to pet care to woodworking. You can scan a list of subjects or search with keywords. There is also a free monthly newsletter.
Epicurious
Everything for food lovers - cooking videos, recipes, articles, cookbook reviews, and information on wine and restaurants.
The Garden Web
Here's the place to order all those gardening catalogs you love to read! In addition, you'll find lots of useful gardening information, including an extensive list of public gardens in the U.S. by state and type.
Home Gardening
This site provides "ecologically sound, science-based practices" for gardening and lawn care. Features illustrated growing guides for specific flowers and vegetables, a tutorial on designing flower gardens, lawn care tips and techniques, and fact sheets on gardening techniques, avoiding pests and diseases, and lawns.
Home Improvement Encyclopedia (Better Homes & Gardens)
This online resource for home repair and improvement has five sections: Plumbing, Wiring, Carpentry, Decks, Masonry and Concrete. In addition, there are several special sections: Project Calculators (paint, drywall, wallpaper, lumber, and concrete), Tools, Encyclopedia , and Glossary .
Home Maintenance and Repair
"Full text articles on topics of home maintenance and repair. Includes information on stains, cleaning, minor household fixes," and more. Searchable, and browsable by topic. From Michigan State University Extension.
Home and Family
Home and family topics include aging, children, clothing, family relationships, housing, parenting, finances, food, nutrition and health.
Psychology Today: Parenting Center
Collection of articles about the psychology of parenting. Subjects include adoption, division of labor, fatherhood, grandparenting, child development, communication, child abuse, child neglect, sex education, technology, discipline, and more. From Psychology Today magazine.
RecipeSource (formerly SOAR)
The Searchable Online Archive of Recipes currently indexes around 70,000 recipes, including those for restricted diets, kids, special occasions - even treats for your pet. Particularly useful for browsing ethnic recipes.
USDA Hardiness Zone Map
Will your plant survive in Iowa’s climate? Check the online version of the government publication showing the growing conditions in areas across the USA.
Wine Lover’s Page
Learn all about wine with links that include a pronouncing glossary, vineyard weather, food-wine matches, and tasting notes on over 50,000 wines.
Yard and Garden
Provides how-to tips and gardening basics. Topics include flowers, fruits, houseplant, lawns, trees and shrubs, vegetables and herbs, weeds and pests.
September 2012 »
September
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30
Upcoming Events
Teen littleBits 101 Nov 01, 2014 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM — Young Adult Room
Teen littleBits Nov 01, 2014 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM
Author - Mary Potter Kenyon Nov 06, 2014 07:00 PM - 08:30 PM — Library Meeting Room
Puppet Show Nov 07, 2014 04:00 PM - 04:45 PM — Youth Department
Cedar Falls Seed Library Harvest Party Nov 08, 2014 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM — Library Meeting Room
Previous events…
Upcoming events…