You are here: Home / Research / Subject Guides / Consumer Information

Consumer Information

Links to useful information on the Internet.
American Association of Retired Persons
AARP is a nonprofit membership organization of persons 50 and over dedicated to addressing their needs and interests. There is information on health and legal issues, travel, money and work, family and home, fun and games, learning and technology, and issues and elections.
Carfax
This site provides vehicle history reports.
Clothing care and stain removal guide
Iowa State University Extension Clothing care and stain removal site. There are stain removal tips and a quick and easy stain removal guide.
Publications.USA.gov
Publications.USA.gov contains free full text version of hundreds of the best federal consumer publications available on cars, employment, federal programs, food, health, housing, money, small business, travel, and more.
Consumer Product Safety Commission
An independent federal regulatory committed to protecting consumers and families from products that pose a fire, electrical, chemical, or mechanical hazard or can injure children. The CPSC works to ensure the safety of consumer products - such as toys, cribs, power tools, cigarette lighters, and household chemicals. Recalled products and safety alerts on specific products are included.
ConsumerReports
Subscription required to see full articles. Provides ratings, buying guides, product reviews and consumer information from the experts at Consumer Reports magazine. Find out what the best products are for appliances, automobiles, baby and child care products, electronics, foods, health & family, and recreation & home improvement.
ConsumerSearch
This site pulls together all sources of reviews on products. You can choose a quick comparison or a detailed review. ConsumerSearch lets you look at what online and offline reviewers say about everything from bread makers and digital cameras to snow blowers and weight- loss programs
Edmunds.com
The mission of this comprehensive car site is to: empower automotive consumers by providing complete, clear, timely, accurate and unbiased information needed to make informed purchase and ownership decisions. There pricing, car reviews, and ratings for new and used cars. There are discussion forums and tips for purchasing cars.
Environmental Protection Agency
This site contains gas mileage (MPG) information, greenhouse gas emissions, air pollution ratings, and safety information for new and used cars and trucks. You can compare vehicles, find the lowest gasoline prices, and find out about hybrid and alternative fuel vehicles
FirstGov for Consumers
A "one-stop" link to a broad range of federal information resources available online. It is designed so that you can locate information by category -- such as Food, Health, Product Safety, Your Money, and Transportation. Each category has subcategories to direct you to areas within individual federal web sites containing related information.
Food Safety
Iowa State University Extension provides information food safety information to consumers, foodservice managers and employees, and other site visitors on safe food handling practices. Questions regarding the safe preparation and handling of food can be answered here.
Home Energy Saver
This is a do-it-yourself energy audit tool. There are resources to help make your home more energy efficient.
Homefair
Compares the cost of living in hundreds of U.S. cities.
Kiplinger
This site provides you with down-to-earth advice on managing your money and achieving financial security. There are interactive calculators, up-to-the-minute business news, stock and mutual fund quotes, deposit account yields and credit rates. “Getting Started” articles will introduce you to common financial concepts and show you how to get the best deals.
Iowa Attorney General
This Iowa Attorney General site gives the conditions that must be met for your car to be considered a lemon and what you can do about it
Kelley Blue Book
This Kelley Blue Book site has pricing for new and used cars. There are reviews and ratings and as well as insurance and financing information.
Mymoney
This site was set up by the Financial Literacy and Education Commission with the purpose of improving the financial literacy and education of persons in the United States. To reach the widest number of people possible, the Commission established a website and a toll-free telephone number to coordinate the presentation of educational materials from across the spectrum of federal agencies that deal with financial issues and markets.
Quotesmith
Quotesmith.com owns and operates Insure.com, a comprehensive online consumer insurance information service that caters to the needs of self-directed insurance shoppers. Insure.com provides a comprehensive array of comparative auto, life and health quotes, including a vast library of originally authored insurance articles and decision-making tools that are not available from any other single source. Visitors can now obtain instant quotes from more than 200 leading insurers, achieve maximum savings and have the freedom to buy from any company shown. The Company provides up-to-the-day accurate quotes for several lines of insurance including auto, motorcycle, life, individual & family medical, group medical, short term medical insurance, dental, Medicare supplement, homeowners, travel
Social Security Online
The official site of the U.S. Social Security Administration. It has information on social security numbers, retirement benefits, disability, Medicare, and other issues related to social security.
Tom’s Hardware
For computer buffs and IT professionals looking for the latest hardware tips, gaming enthusiasts who want to meet other fans, businesspeople who need the best mobile devices, and electronics enthusiasts who are building a state-of-the-art home office. It is a comprehensive source of today’s news and analysis of current computer technology.
Underwriters Laboratories
This agency develops standards and test procedures for materials, components, assemblies, tools, equipment and procedures, chiefly dealing with product safety and utility. You can check to see what products are already certified, submit products for testing, and read warnings regarding unsafe products.
Weather Underground
Weather Underground is committed to delivering the most reliable, accurate weather information possible. There are weather conditions and forecasts for over 60,000 U.S. and international cities.
« October 2013 »
October
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031
Upcoming Events
Youth Movie - Bears Sep 18, 2014 06:00 PM - 07:30 PM — Youth Department
Solar Energy Workshops Sep 18, 2014 06:30 PM - 08:30 PM — Library Meeting Room
Adult Movie - Noah Sep 19, 2014 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM — Library Meeting Room
Exploring the Geologic Landscape of Northeast Iowa Sep 20, 2014 08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
Social Stitching Sep 20, 2014 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM
Previous events…
Upcoming events…